Home>Guide>Chongqing History during Republic of China Ⅰ

Chongqing History during Republic of China Ⅰ


Chongqing Introduction during the Republic of China Ⅰ

Chongqing has about 30 million populations with a long profound history. The earliest human beings have been found in Chongqing Municipality. Nowadays, more and more people come here to take Yangtze Cruise from Chongqing to enjoy the attractions on Yangtze River. In Yangtze River history, there are many scenery spots such as Three Gorges, Three Gorges Dam, Three Gorges Project, White Emperor City and Fengdu Ghost City.

Chongqing History Introduction during the Republic of China Ⅰ

Chongqing is located at the center of the ancient Bayu Area which is also the birthplace of Bayu Culture, a historical and cultural city in China with more than 3,000 years of history. About 20 to 30 thousand years ago, human beings had moved to the Chongqing area, thereby marking the start of Chongqing's long history.

Name Origin of Chongqing Ⅰ

Chongqing is located at the confluence of the Jialing and Yangtze River and is situated among the gently sloping surrounding mountains. Although the name of the city has changed several times including Jiangzhou, Ba Shire, Chuzhou, Yuzhou and Gongzhou, it finally called Chongqing. Most names involved the name Ba because Chongqing was the center of the Ba Kingdom established by Ba ethnic groups who were conquered in the areas near the Yangtze, Wujiang and Jialing rivers. The Wendi Emperor of the Sui Dynasty (581-618) changed Chuzhou to Yuzhou and the mountainous city was called Yu for short for a long while. In the year of 1189, Song (960-1279) Guangzong was crowned as Gong King and the emperor of the whole country in succession. He gladly renamed Gongzhou to Chongqing meaning 'double happiness'.

Chongqing History Details during the Republic of China Ⅰ

On the 22nd November, Chongqing Shu Military Government has been established. In 1913, after the Revolution of 1911, Sichuan Military Government abolished Chongqing Shu Military Government. Since then on, Chongqing has been governed by the Sichuan Province. Chongqing has been divided into 36 County. At that time, Chonqing downtown belongs to Ba County.

In 1921, the Commercial Port Supervisory Office has been established. In 1922, it has been changed into the Municipal administration. Since 1926, Chongqing began to develop.

In 1927, the Commercial Port Supervisory Office has been changed into Municipal Office. Since then on, the area of 150,000 meters surrounded by Jialing River and Yangtze River is regarded as the downtown of Chongqing.

In 1929, Chongqing was firstly and officially approved as the municipality of the province of China. The first mayor is Pan Wenhua.

In 1939, Chongqing was approved as the municipality of China by the Nanjing National Government. The municipal area is the downtown of Chongqing – Yuzhong District, Jiulongpo District, Shapingba District, Jiangbei District, and Nan'an Distrcit. Beibei District was place of the Executive Yuan and provisional government.

This articel is from Meiyatravel.